THE DOOR WAS PAINTED BLACK

What was I to think?
The house came
Complete with a
Door painted black…
Should I believe in omens
Or see a decorator’s whim
 
Months, not years
Proved true my fears
The house nearly
A death house
Waiting to bring
Silent death…
Or death of spirit
 
Some houses
Never feel like home
So I’m feeling like
It’s nearly time
For me to roam…
Find where I fit
 
I know what went wrong
How to fix it as well
Getting away not to be
A simple task…
But I must close that door
In hopes another opens soon
To the right place for me
 
© 2016 Robert Mihaly
 
Posted also to:
2 comments

  1. Annie's Muse · February 20, 2016

    Oh … know that house so well … this is excellent Robert!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Robert Mihaly · February 21, 2016

      Thank you, Annie. Me too. I live in it…and that’s the whole truth. Best laid plans, though….

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

