American Babylon: A One Act Play

Setting: the Mall in the nation’s capitol. Hundreds of thousands of angry white men and women are gathered, all armed, all wearing shirts proclaiming “AMERICA IS GREAT AGAIN”. All others have been rushed away; non-Christians, people of color, the ethnic looking, those with the appearance of homosexuality, the lame, those who just don’t look angry enough, and those the President-elect just eyes with suspicion of being intelligent, all headed for an uncertain fate.

The President-elect stands before his crowd, hairpiece at attention in a stiff breeze. Air is rushing in from all corners, to replace that which he has sucked out of the Capitol. A singular vitriol has replaced obstruction, which had replaced any willingness to listen to opposing points of view.

The President-elect is ready to speak. He stands bare-assed naked before his people. They can’t see it.

The President-elect: Okay, people. You know why we’re here. Now shut up, so I can speak! I won’t have you talking over me. You said you wanted a guy who can get things done. That’s what I’ll do. Just hold onto your caps.

The world doesn’t like me. The world doesn’t like how you voted. The world can kiss my ass! The world is full of losers…just like my opponents. They can go to Hell! When I take power, those losers will be sent to Guantanamo. Those two Cubans will be right at home, and the others? Who gives a good Goddamn?  They’re politicians and losers. You elected me. So Congress better get onboard. They’re all expendable.

Now, here’s the deal, people.  And you know…I KNOW how to make a deal. So the deal we’ll make is this. I know how things get done. That wall? Done! Bombing ISIS? They’ll be so done. Israel? I don’t know why Christians are so worried about a Jewish country., but okay…I hear you. They’ll get onboard too. Those Muslims will know…you don’t mess with the Jews, or you’re messing with me. If they don’t get it, I can level Mecca as fast as you can snap your fingers.

Scene: The crowd has been cheering at every proclamation. But now the volume threatens to drown out the President-elect. His ire rises.

The President-elect, shouting: SHUT UP! I’M TALKNG, PEOPLE!

That’s better. Now remember. I won’t say it again. Now listen up, people. You gave me your votes. You believed in me. You know I’m the tough guy I said I was. My opponents know it now. They’ll get theirs. You believed in me. Now I’ll tell you the deal. This is MY country now. I won’t have anyone talking when I speak. You wanted a god…and I’m your god. Now get down on your knees! Kiss the ground we walk on. Kiss the ground I walk on. This is America, and now it’s mine. Show me your faith with the sign of the “T”.

Final scene: We see now the beginning of the end. The less intelligent faithful didn’t understand that they stood with a man who sought not to be President of the greatest nation on the face of the Earth, the United States of America. They had empowered a man who would be king. The Constitution, which some claimed to revere? It’s days are numbered. Congress, an ineffectual body of argumentative fools, had fooled itself, and will become a rubber stamp or be gone. And the highest Court in the land? The President-elect made clear that its days were numbered. When he took office, it would be irrelevant. The President-elect holds supreme power. Money won. Now money rules, absolutely. And if you don’t understand it now…you’re a loser.

© 2016 Robert Mihaly

Posted also to:

American Babylon: A One Act Play

6 comments

  1. bbeyes4 · March 10, 2016

    OMG Robert!! Wow!! So perfectly written!! I love this!! I couldn’t have send it better! Perfection. Thank you for writing this. The world needs to see this. You hit the nail directly on the head.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Robert Mihaly · March 10, 2016

      Thank you Suzanne. I’m in high dudgeon over this election year. You’ll see that in my other post today, which was my post to Annie’s “What If” prompt. A translation is possible. 😉

      Like

  2. Angelwingspoetry.com · March 11, 2016

    Powerful , love 💗

    Liked by 1 person

    • Robert Mihaly · March 12, 2016

      Thank you, Angel. I’ve been told I should get this on a commentary site, but how? It’s all new to me. I never seriously considered writing before the last couple years, and I know getting published isn’t easy.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Kurt · September 1, 2016

    You hit the nail on the head!

    Like

Leave a Reply

