ACCEPTING THE CALL

your-dreams-are-calling.jpg

The phone rang. “Hello?” A lapse of time with no reply told me…a robocall. I heard a not-very-real voice say…”This is your future calling.” I was tempted to just hang up, but something told me this wasn’t your typical robocall. My reaction was understated, as I soon found out.
 
As curious as I was annoyed, having been awakened before I’d planned on getting up, I waited to hear the options. The computer proceeded. “If you want to hear the most likely way your day will go, press 1,” the digital voice said. That wasn’t such a big deal. I’d soon find out anyway. “To hear the date on which you’ll die, press 2.” Hell, I thought…what is this bullshit? I was about to hang up, until I heard, “If you want your greatest desire to come true, press 3.” Then, “I didn’t hear your reply. If you need your choices repeated, press 4.” Not knowing how else to respond, I hit 3 and waited.
 
Another voice came on the line. She said she had loved me for as long as she could remember, and that I was all she needed to make her life feel worthwhile. She said she wanted me, and that she was waiting, impatiently. I tried to reply, to find out who she was, but the line went dead. And then, I woke up. Damn! Why do things like that always happen to me? I soon fell back to sleep, hoping for a callback.
 

© 2016 Robert Mihaly

Posted also to:
3 comments

  1. bbeyes4 · March 21, 2016

    I love this Robert! Really well written!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Robert Mihaly · March 21, 2016

      Thank you, Suzanne. Obviously a fantasy…i never easily fall asleep.

      Liked by 1 person

      • bbeyes4 · March 22, 2016

        Me neither!! But a really great story!!

        Like

Leave a Reply

