WALLET

I looked in my wallet
Not much there…
A few credit cards,
A few small bills,
A few notes to self…
Nothing of substance

I wonder how this
Has come to be…
Does this represent
The whole of my being?
I know the answer is no,
But at times I still have doubt…

When you’ve spent years
That end up feeling like
You’ve been treading water,
Those thoughts come often…
They’re not how I want to feel
So change is underway…

© 2016 Robert Mihaly

WRITERS WRITE prompt for 8/5/16: WALLET
4 comments

  1. bbeyes4 · August 6, 2016

    I open my wallet and moths come out of this😖 I’m praying this to shall pass🙏🏻

    Liked by 1 person

    • artifiswords · August 7, 2016

      I saw that cartoon too, long ago, Suzanne. Decided it was a touch too cliched to put in the poem, but don’t think I didn’t consider it. Besides…my moths were so hungry that they ate each other. LOL

      Liked by 2 people

  2. AprilEsutton · August 7, 2016

    Brave to make changes, but it will be worth it. Good luck.

    Liked by 1 person

    • artifiswords · August 7, 2016

      Thank you, April. Change happens, like it or not. I’d rather steer some of it and not feel a victim of it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

