A BOX OF DARKNESS

Writing Outside the Lines – Prompt 2-5
“Someone I loved once gave me a box full of darkness. It took me years to understand that this too, was a gift.”
– Mary Oliver

A BOX OF DARKNESS

She called it love
For awhile I did too…
But love is gentle
And kind, not demanding
And this was none of the kind
I ever would have sought…

For awhile I was so confused
And confusing is what it remained…
Self-serving…always the attitude
Except when blame was served
I didn’t know what it was called…
Now I see its name…projection

I lived with that box of darkness…
It nearly ate my soul…but
I stopped it in its tracks…
A comeback underway
But I’ll always rue the day
I watched her take control…

The box is empty now
Waiting until I return it…
I’ll just leave it the way it is now…
It’s not my way to be so unkind

 
© 2016 Robert Mihaly
 
Posted also to:

 

WRITING REBELS.jpg

4 comments

  1. AprilEsutton · September 17

    RUN!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bbeyes4 · September 17

    Well written Robert!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

