NO TIME TO PANIC

The whoosh of
Double burners near
Told me I should
Fear a collision
A hot air balloon above
Misjudgment sent him
Down rapidly…out of control
Hoping he would miss the
Balloon below…mine
And then the impact…
I felt hot air over me as
His basket impacted fabric
Panic could have cost my life
Quick reaction my only salvation
Heavy application of heat to
Give me lift…but I knew
I was quaking in my boots
There’s a difference
Between panic and fear
Knowing what I 
Had to do
The solution…
The reason I’m still here
 
4 comments

  1. suzannevcarey · April 24

    Scary visual! Well written

    Liked by 1 person

    • artifiswords · April 24

      It’s based on a true story. I lived it. Almost quit ballooning because of it. The idiot who hit my balloon was a friend of the rally officials and skated away with a reduced penalty. Life’s so fair…huh?

      Liked by 1 person

      • suzannevcarey · April 24

        The good news is you’re here to tell the tale💕💕

        Liked by 1 person

      • artifiswords · April 24

        Thank you. That’s why pilots at every level practice emergency techniques, to be prepared, just in case. I saw a worst case scenario years before…knowing what that fellow did wrong taught me how to react.

        Like

Leave a Reply

