MY EARLIEST MEMORY

remember-from-we-heart-it.jpg

Trying to think about
My earliest memory
I found myself
At loggerheads with
The uncertainty of how
You know time before
That concept is taught

The real uncertainty
Of what came first
Was decided by
Vague remembrances
Only placed in time
By knowing details
Second-hand…
Other things
I remember must
Have come later

When I fell out of a
Second-floor window
Into a bush below
Was I too young
To understand
What had happened?
I remember nothing
But what I was told
It’s a memory…
But not mine

Like clips from a movie
I have images in time…
My sister…10 years older
Loving to be second mama
To her little brother…
A blue stroller with the name
“Taylor Tot” was how she
Paraded me around
The neighborhood
Showing me off to friends

The neighborhood school
With a playground flashes
Into memory…but nothing
Can make me remember
Any action…maybe I
Remember no more
Because of my tender age…
Three or less…but I
Have always known one thing…
I was always special to her
And she was & remains so to me

© 2016 Robert Mihaly

Written from a prompt at #FWF: My Earliest Memory

Posted also to:

https://magicinthebackyard.wordpress.com/2016/03/18/welcome-back-to-fwf/

fwfbadgenew.jpg
4 comments

  1. bbeyes4 · March 29, 2016

    Wow Robert this is so well said! I hope you realize what an amazing writer you are!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. artifiswords · March 29, 2016

    Thank you for being so supportive, Suzanne. We’re all learning.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. bbeyes4 · March 29, 2016

    I really love reading your words and seeing the pictures that they paint in my mind!

    Liked by 1 person

    • artifiswords · March 29, 2016

      Et tu, Suz? Your choice of doors left me only able to make a wild guess. I have yet to respond, so you’re way ahead of me there.

      Like

Leave a Reply

